Who Is Margaret Atwood?

Margaret Atwood is a Canadian author who has composed honor winning verse, short stories and books, including The Circle Game (1966), The Handmaid’s Tale (1985), The Blind Assassin (2000), Oryx and Crake (2003) and The Tent (2006).

Her works have been converted into a variety of various dialects and seen a few screen adjustments, with both Handmaid’s Tale and Alias Grace turning out to be miniseries in 2017.

Margaret Atwood Life and Education

Atwood was conceived on November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada to a nutritionist mother and entomologist father who cultivated an adoration for nature. Additionally experiencing childhood in Quebec and indicating an energy for composing at an early age,

Atwood in the end sought after her undergrad learns at Victoria College at the University of Toronto, graduating in 1961. She at that point earned her lord’s at Radcliffe the next year. Through the span of her profession, Atwood proceeded to educate at an assortment of schools and colleges in both Canada and the United States.

Sonnets Acclaimed Literary Career

Atwood’s initially distributed work was the flyer of verse Double Persephone (1961), distributed by means of Hawkshead Press. More verse followed during the decade as observed with the books Talismans for Children (1965) and The Animals in That Country (1968). She at that point distributed her first novel, The Edible Woman, in 1969, an allegorical, clever work about the societal position of a lady going to marry.

A determined soul, Atwood would later portray taking Greyhound transports to peruse at gyms and sell books. Atwood kept on distributing verse just as the books Surfacing (1973), Lady Oracle (1976) and Life Before Man (1980).

Books: ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’

A few additional books followed, yet it was 1985’s The Handmaid’s Tale that earned Atwood a monstrous flood of recognition and prevalence. An insightful admonition over what could be, the book narratives a strict, religious oppressed world in which a select gathering of rich ladies — a condition which has become an irregularity — are made to hold up under youngsters for corporate male overlords.

The Handmaid’s Tale, additionally proceeded as a show, was transformed into a 1990 film featuring Natasha Richardson as the title character Offred, alongside Aidan Quinn, Elizabeth McGovern, Faye Dunaway and Robert Duvall.

Decades later, Handmaid’s Tale was adjusted into a spring 2017 TV miniseries, featuring Elisabeth Moss as Offred, alongside Samira Wiley, Alexis Bledel and Joseph Fiennes. It later won numerous Emmy Awards, including Outstanding Drama Series. Likewise, Atwood’s tale Alias Grace, a homicide story set in the mid-nineteenth century in upper Canada, discharged as a miniseries in the fall of 2017.

Theoretical Fiction and Comics

Atwood is a productive essayist who has written extra books that incorporate Cat’s Eye (1989) and The Blind Assassin, which won the Booker Prize.

Proceeding with her yield of theoretical fiction with true equals, the new thousand years saw Atwood discharging the earth centered MaddAddam set of three, comprising of Oryx and Crake (2003), The Year of the Flood (2009) and MaddAddam (2013). Notwithstanding The Penelopiad (2005) and The Tent (2006), she additionally discharged the book of papers In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination, taking a gander at the subtleties of science fiction/dream classification composing.

In 2016, Atwood distributed the realistic novel Angel Catbird, an endeavor finished with individual Canadian craftsman Johnnie Christmas which profiles the super-courageous undertakings of a hereditary architect who turns out to be part catlike, part owl. The work is scheduled to be followed up by the February 2017 discharge, Angel Catbird: To Castle Catula.

Atwood lived in Toronto with her accomplice Graeme Gibson until his demise in September 2019. The couple has one little girl.

Bookslogy Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *